I resolve…

3 Jan

Three days in is getting late to be making resolutions, I know. You hear so many people talking about not making resolutions, living in the moment, living each day to the fullest, blah, blah, blah. I on the other hand feel like I’m in the middle of fulfilling resolutions I made in the middle of last year. WHAT? Resolutions in the middle of the year, who knew? So I’m done with new year’s resolutions, but not resolutions altogether.

So I challenge you, if haven’t made any new year’s resolutions, pick any ordinary day and decide to make a change for the better. Don’t wait 363 days to get your next new start. Why do we wait for January 1st? It’s like waiting until Monday to start your diet. What’s wrong with today?

Every year at the beginning of the school year I’m required to come up with professional goals that I pledge to work on. These are somewhat like resolutions, with a plan for success. Just like resolutions, these things can easily go by the wayside and end up as regrets, things I wish I had done. For the last couple of years I’ve included maintaining a homework blog for students and parents amongst my professional goals. This year is the first year I’ve stuck with it this long. Now I realize why it was unsuccessful in the past; I never thought that anyone was reading it so I stopped posting. This year, when I let it go, the complaints were enough to motivate me to continue. I’ve always wanted to maintain a personal blog, somewhat of a creative outlet, a place for thoughts, musings and commentaries. Perhaps if I can maintain a blog for my students, I can also maintain one for myself. So, as a personal goal, I’ve decided to try blogging a couple of times a week.

The only other resolution I made this year was to NOT take home any work on my Christmas, March and Easter breaks ever again. But this resolution left me with a dejavu experience. I guess that is the problem with new year’s resolutions. They’re not made with enough resolve to follow through.

Leave a Reply

