35 Years of Memories

7 Jan

Today is my only sibling’s 35th birthday. I have so many memories of us, my brother and me, growing up. Some of them good, and some of them bad, but most of them downright hilarious. You know my brother Greg, don’t you? He’s a nut! And, I say that with all the affection possible.

Oh the stories I could tell! Lets see, there’s the BBQ accident, the glass in the mud, the wet willys, the fish hook incident and I could go on and on. I’m not sure if Greg remembers, but I have a vivid memory of the cruel things I did to him when we were kids, like when I told him the truth about Santa Claus when he was only seven. I remember clearly throwing a big brown leather ottoman at him once, but for the life of me I cannot remember exactly what he did to deserve it. I also recall some of the cruel things he did to me, actually they mostly involved him jumping out of dark closets and scaring the life out of me.

I remember the time Greg challenged me to a race. Whoever reached the front door first was the winner. Now, if you know both of us, you’d know that almost any time during the last 35 years if Greg and I had raced he would almost always be the winner. But, not that day. I was ahead of him by about two or three feet and it became clear to him that I was going to win. Greg didn’t like to lose, especially to me. What boy wants to lose to his sister? So when we were about three feet from the front door Greg reached out and lunged forward and smashed through the glass on the screen door. (Just after losing the race.) He required several stitches.

One thing is for certain, and I’m sure Patti probably agrees, life with my brother is never a dull one! Happy Birthday Greg, I love you!

5 Responses to “35 Years of Memories”

  1. Jillian Shealy January 8, 2009 at 7:18 AM #

    great tribute to Greg. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Glenn January 9, 2009 at 9:34 AM #

    What a wonderful birthday wish to Greg! You need to keep writing here! I love you.

  3. Carolee LeBlanc January 9, 2009 at 6:47 PM #

    Hey there;

    Found your blog on your facebook! Soooo facebook IS good for something! I look forward to reading your blogging thoughts…

    Carolee

  4. Patti January 9, 2009 at 11:17 PM #

    YES, YES, YES i do agree!!!!! Life with Greg is never dull, and never without accidents. lol

  5. Greg January 9, 2009 at 11:22 PM #

    Debbie thanks for the the blog post!!! I do remember most of what you said, and I only have one question. Are you saying that Santa Claus is not real? I do remember the ottoman and I remember flying through the glass door in an attempt to win the race, which clearly lost and I have the scars to constantly remind me of that defeat, but I think I gave you a head start. I remember throwing a glass of Kool Aid on you at Lake George because you got the glass with more in it. Thanks for the Birthday wish!!!

Leave a Reply

