Cherry Blossom

9 Feb

We pad down the street
in our bare feet, my brother and I.
We walk down through the ditch
and up over the tracks
to the little drug store
that would later be the Cotton Cafe.

I choose the only one
in a neat square yellow box
wrapped in silver foil.

I hold it properly, upside down,
and let my teeth sink in.
I find the sweet red juice
and the too sweet cherry.

When we’d arrive home,
the only evidence left
would be our black soles.

One Response to “Cherry Blossom”

  1. Glenn February 11, 2009 at 9:55 AM #

    I remember when I was still living in NJ, you gave me a few “Canadian” candy bars that you knew I couldn’t get there. One of them was a cherry blossom. I loved that it came in a little box. Unfortunately, not being a fan of chocolate covered cherries, I couldn’t share your love for them. Those candy bars were first thing that indicated to me that there are lots of small differences between living in the US and Canada. I love you.

Leave a Reply

