In response to Eating Poetry

6 Apr

I wrote this poem in response to Mark Strand’s “Eating Poetry“:

The Poor Librarian

I sense his wicked elation
and watch with an air of resignation;
my despair
gives way to fear.

My overwhelming childish emotion
contributes to my confusion.
I am surprised
to see the joy in his eyes.

My one wish?
To understand this senselessness.

One Response to “In response to Eating Poetry”

  1. Carolee LeBlanc April 8, 2009 at 8:53 AM #

    Glad your back!!! I have NO idea what book we are doing next! Suggestions? They had read so many of the “greats”…I might want to push them to a “new” great…like “Their Eyes Were Watching God” by Hurston or the “Day”, “Night” and “Dawn” series by Wiesel or even “Peace Shall Destory Many” by Wiebe.

Leave a Reply

