Priorities & Passions

1 Nov

What's next?

I’m sitting here in our home office beside my newly framed Master of Education diploma mulling over how to best meet my personal and professional goals for the future. It has me thinking about my priorities and passions. If how we spend our time determines our priorities, I value my job an awful lot. I’m at work close to nine hours a day, five days a week and I bring work home almost every night, and every weekend. I love being a teacher, but is that really top on my list of priorities?

Have you ever asked yourself–If I didn’t need to work for money, what would I do with my time? I think the answer to that question gets at your passion! My answer was clear, I’d write! So if my passion is writing, why don’t I already spend more time doing it? I don’t have a good answer.

Last week I noticed that a friend posted about November being National Blog Posting Month, and challenged others to join her in blogging every day this month. I wanted to tell her that I was taking her up on the challenge but that inner voice that says, “You’ve never stuck with it before; what makes you think you will this time?” took over. But, on Saturday morning when my husband and I snuck away for a trip to the market and breakfast out, he asked me if I saw her challenge, and asked what I thought about it. He challenged me to do the same thing.

So here I am, sitting in the office writing my first blog post in nearly 18 months. I look back at the last one that reads like a confessional, my attempt at making an excuse for not blogging, and I realize I have my own procrastination to overcome. I am determined that this will be the first of 30 consecutive blog post without missing a single day all month. Please, cheer me on. Or, do one better and join me!

3 Responses to “Priorities & Passions”

  1. Leanne November 2, 2010 at 8:10 PM #

    I’ll hold you to it, Debbie! Looking forward to reading your daily musings this month!

  2. Denise Nielsen November 4, 2010 at 2:52 PM #

    I LOVE this post and am thrilled Leanne convinced you to try blogging. I have been struggling with the whole do what you love thing, and am just on the cusp of dropping my big corporate job for life as a freelance editor. Scary, yes. Exciting, definitely. Worth it – well, I hope so! Good luck with the blog.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 58 – My summer has been GREAT! « wildmudturtle writes - August 24, 2011

    […] and family, and blogged all along the way. With my last two summers cut short by course work for my masters, this one has been a fabulous, university course free, […]

Leave a Reply

