Solace

3 Nov

Fellow bloggers, does this ever happen to you?

I need to learn to blog earlier in the day! I waited until after the kids were all settled and in bed, and Glenn turned on the TV. I got too tired and distracted to write. I started typing several times. I almost wrote about grief, but decided my brain was too fried tonight to do it justice.  I got even further with a piece on teenagers and aging parents, but decided to put that one off until I could do a better job and backspaced out everything I had written. My last attempt was a piece about how excited I am about my brother and his wife expecting their first child. I super pumped, but that too will wait for another day. I’m officially stuck, and it’s too late to deal with it.

So, I decided to share a poem I wrote last summer. I guess solace is what I need right now.

Solace

We arrive one summer
to find bright orange tape around your generous middle;
like the mark of death,
your days are numbered.
They came with the angry chainsaw,
the growl of its hungry teeth
and the scent of gasoline seeping into the summer air
alerts us.
Papa is the one to save you.
Even though you’re dead on top,
Your benevolent branches still bestow sweet shade,
our solace on sunny summer days.
4 Responses to “Solace”

  1. Leanne November 4, 2010 at 4:37 PM #

    Happens all the time, Debbie! Late night blogging is no picnic. My brains turns off when the kids go to bed — if not before! I think I’m going to be right there with you tonight, though. Busy day today!

    BTW, love your new background design!

  2. Andrea Grillo November 6, 2010 at 10:44 AM #

    Great writing – love your solace poem – not too literal and yet extremely accessable. You are a wonderful writer – good idea to blog daily. I’ve yet to try this, of course I stll do not own a computer at home. LOL. Bravo

  3. Lori November 6, 2010 at 8:09 PM #

    I remember the whole lesson surrounding this poem. 🙂 Great blog posts. I keep thinking I should start blogging, but haven’t yet.

    • Debbie G November 7, 2010 at 8:41 AM #

      You should blog! It’s fun, even if you only do it for yourself. It gives me satisfaction to know I’ve blogged every day this month so far. There is a pressure to continue, but it is a good one.

Leave a Reply

