Last night I had the strangest dream…

6 Nov
I sailed away to China, in a little row boat to find ya,
and you said you had to get your laundry clean.

 

Seriously folks, it was a weird one! I can’t really say if it was a good dream or a nightmare. Let me explain. I dreamed that I got a new laptop; sounds like a good dream, right? Well, not entirely. Somehow, I figured a new laptop meant it would be a good idea for me to eat my old laptop cord. That’s right, I said ‘eat’ it!  I’m not sure if this was because of the book presentation in my fifth period class yesterday that centered around eating disorders, or not. Maybe it had something to do with the email from the teacher who teaches in my classroom every day while I’m on prep saying he misplaced his laptop cord. So, in my dream, that is what I did; I ate the cord.

I pulled the cord apart and ate the part that goes between my laptop and that little box in the middle of the cord. I figured I’d start with that part because it was smaller in diameter. I used a knife to cut it into bite size pieces… I’m no animal! But, having successfully eaten half the cord, I realized that there was no way I could stomach the rest. The first half was beginning to worry me. I’m certain our digestive systems are not mean to handle electrical cords. Then, it occurred me that I still needed my old laptop cord because it was for my work laptop, and without it I wouldn’t be able to charge my work laptop. I started to panic.

Remember, this is a dream. So, in my panic, I decided that I would have to submit a help desk request explaining that I had permanently ‘misplaced’ the part of my laptop cord that goes between the box and my computer. I certainly had misplaced it, albeit intentionally. Surely, the technicians would have a few extras of these hanging out in their offices, right? I was just about to submit the request for a new cord when I woke up.

When I realized it was all just a weird dream I was so relieved! I’m certain that eating my laptop cord will never be in my future, so I wonder if this was just a wild and crazy dream, or if it had some deeper meaning. It certainly served one useful purpose. This morning when we woke up Glenn said, “I had some weird dreams last night.” To which I replied, “You think you had weird dreams…” and I told him my story. He almost fell off the bed he was laughing so hard. I said, “I think I’ve got my blog for today.” Between the deep belly laughs he said, “I think you do!”

One Response to “Last night I had the strangest dream…”

  1. Leanne November 6, 2010 at 12:05 PM #

    LOL!!! You said it, Debbie! That’s just weird!

Leave a Reply

