I Remember Again

11 Nov

I stand in the crowd.

Today is the first day for mittens and hats,

but the crisp cold air is cleansing.

I listen as they call the names

of men and a few women.

People I don’t know,

who belong to families of my friends

and community.

Silence eqauls respect and remembrance

and the horns evoke emotions

every time.

Just as the service is coming to a close

and the preacher offers a prayer

it begins to snow.

Pure white and perfect,

it reminds me

that I live in a wonderful

free country

and I remember again.

One Response to “I Remember Again”

  1. Leanne November 12, 2010 at 8:57 AM #

    Love this, Debbie! I missed being at the service in Marysville this year!

Leave a Reply

