40 Before 40

15 Nov

Now that my master’s degree is finished, I need something to keep my challenged. I decided that I’d work toward some personal goals for a while. In three months I’ll be 39 years old, that ripe old age that many people want to hold onto. It sounds so much younger than 40. Thinking about entering a new decade made me reflect on all the things I want to accomplish but haven’t yet. So I decided I’d create a list for myself of the 40 things I’d like to do before I turn 40. It seems like a good way to keep me from getting into a rut, and force me to both plan for adventures and an excuse to enjoy the relaxing pastimes I love. I plan to accomplish all 40 things on my list, but will make no excuses for anything that I don’t accomplish. I want this to be motivating, not stress producing. Each time I do something on the list, I’ll blog to share about it. Hopefully this will keep my blogging long after NoBloPoMo is long over, and definitely at least once a week.

So, here is my list of the 40 things I aim to accomplish before I turn 40:

  1. Get a really short haircut.
  2. Watch the sunrise with someone I love.
  3. Go kayaking.
  4. Go to a Catholic Mass in Fredericton.
  5. Go downhill skiing with my family.
  6. Spend an afternoon reading in the public library.
  7. Eat Japanese food.
  8. Visit Quebec.
  9. Go horseback riding.
  10. Give cantaloupe a second chance.
  11. Attend an exercise class twice a week for a month.
  12. See a play on Broadway.
  13. Go to a zoo.
  14. Visit the Beaverbrook Art Gallery in Fredericton.
  15. Read a book in one day.
  16. Make a new friend.
  17. Lose twenty pounds and keep it off.
  18. Host a dinner party.
  19. Spend an entire day in my PJ’s watching movies.
  20. Go whale watching.
  21. Make my Nanny’s molasses cookies.
  22. Go white water rafting.
  23. Get a houseplant and keep it alive for at least six months.
  24. Write for half an hour a day all summer.
  25. Video myself teaching.
  26. Have family photographs taken.
  27. Drink a glass of red wine.
  28. Make my mother-in-law’s pound cake.
  29. Try a new local restaurant.
  30. Visit the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York.
  31. Go to a movie by myself.
  32. Read a book to my new niece.
  33. Go shopping and for lunch with my mother.
  34. Really clean out my closet.
  35. Get a massage and a pedicure on the same day.
  36. Have my family over for an authentic Italian meal.
  37. Try a new recipe every night for a week.
  38. Rekindle and old friendship.
  39. Blog at least once a week for an entire year.
  40. Write a novel.
28 Responses to “40 Before 40”

  1. Glenn November 16, 2010 at 9:08 AM #

    I love this… I count twenty of them that I want to do with you… see if you can figure out which they are! ❤

  2. Leanne November 16, 2010 at 11:48 AM #

    Wow, what a great list! You’ve inspired a future post for me, but I think it will take a while to compile the list. And I’ve been 39 for two years now, so do I need to make a list of 50 things? At least I’d have longer to accomplish it… Looking forward to reading as you check things off the list!

  3. Debbie G November 16, 2010 at 12:34 PM #

    Glenn 1-9, 12, 13, 14, 18, 19, 20, 22, 26, 29, 30, 36.

    Leanne, the list could be 43 things or any number close. If I had more than 15 months I would have added things like “see Big Ben” and “visit Straford-Upon-Avon” and “eat at an outdoor cafe with a view of Eiffel Tower”.

  4. Andrea Grillo November 16, 2010 at 5:44 PM #

    Great list but I cannot begin to understand your wanting to do #4. It’s like a pitcher wasting a pitch – I don’t get the point but of course that’s OK too.

  5. Kim Edmondson November 16, 2010 at 5:51 PM #

    This is really inspiring! I really love the part about no apologies for NOT accomplishing all of the items on the list. I just might be inspired enough to make my own list – with slightly more items on it. Thanks Debbie 🙂

  6. Lori November 16, 2010 at 8:22 PM #

    Interesting list! It is neat to think about which of those I have done ( I recomment the sunrise over the water in St. Andrew’s), which I would also like to do, things I’m not surprised you have on your liset (but aren’t me) and others that left me saying ‘huh?’. Good luck and I look forward to reading future blogs! If you can do the Masters program (and drag me along with you) then you can do anything!! 🙂

  7. Heidi Hoyt November 17, 2010 at 6:35 PM #

    Holy macaroni!! Very cool….I can definitely help with some! I go 2 nights a week to a fitness class and we could rekindle our friendship at the same time!! xo

  8. Debbie G November 17, 2010 at 11:17 PM #

    Ange, read my blog the next day and I explain #4.

    Thanks Kim, I’d love to read your list if you decide to share it.

    Lori, what was it that made you go ‘huh?’ Or, did I explain that one in my next post.

    Heidi, give me a call. I’d love to do both, but not necessarily at the same time.

    • Heidi Hoyt November 18, 2010 at 11:13 AM #

      I go every Monday at 6:30 and Thursday 7:45….
      Did you get my invite to coffee party? Let me know! You know my phone number too!! 😛

      • Debbie G November 18, 2010 at 1:03 PM #

        Is it group centergy that you go to Heidi? I’ll email you about the coffee thing. Funny thing, I do have your home number, but I don’t think I have your (not so new) cell phone number, or Shane’s either. The last time I called the cell phone number I have for you I got one of your kids.

  9. Mom November 18, 2010 at 6:05 PM #

    WOW Go for it girl I know you have it in you and so much more, soooooooooooo proud of you

  10. heidi November 19, 2010 at 4:07 PM #

    It’s the same as always 4574312 and cell is 4702218 yes it is centergy! I go to circuit at northside too! We’ll get together soon!

  11. Diana Otteson December 6, 2010 at 7:31 PM #

    I’ve done all but five . . .

    • Diana Otteson December 6, 2010 at 7:32 PM #

      I mean, I’ve done everything on the list except for five items . . .

      • Debbie G December 6, 2010 at 10:50 PM #

        I understood. Let me guess: 4, 6, 24, 25, 36, 39, 40. Okay that’s seven. Fill me in.

  12. Denise January 4, 2011 at 11:49 AM #

    This list is amazing! I’m entering the forth decade of my life in a little over a month. I had many goals to reach before I turned 30 but, have been toooo busy to think about a list before 40…Now I’m making the time. Thanks for the inspiration Deb!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. wildmudturtle writes - November 20, 2010

    […] might have noticed that after I posted my 40 Before 40 list that Glenn posted a list of his own. One item on his list was “bake bread”, I […]

  2. #29 Try a New Local Restaurant « wildmudturtle writes - November 27, 2010

    […] I can cross #29 off my 40 Before 40 list, but I think I’ll wait. I’d like to try Racines or The Palate and the list gives […]

  3. Success is Mine « wildmudturtle writes - December 1, 2010

    […] a bit. I’m not even going to try to blog every day this month, but one of my goals in my 40 Before 40 list was to blog at least once a week for an entire year. I may as well start that now while […]

  4. #23 Houseplant | wildmudturtle writes - December 7, 2010

    […] All in matching pots.” This sounded like the perfect opportunity for me to get #23 on my 40 Before 40 list started! A fairly easy one to deal with too, I thought. I responded right away, and tonight I went […]

  5. Procrastination | wildmudturtle writes - December 30, 2010

    […] a list of forty things I wanted to do before I turn forty. I’m going to go ahead and say this hefty list absolves me from making any separate New Year’s Resolutions tomorrow. The problem? When I […]

  6. 2010 in Review | wildmudturtle writes - January 2, 2011

    […] The busiest day of the year was November 16th with 95 views. The most popular post that day was 40 Before 40. […]

  7. #27 Red Red Wine | wildmudturtle writes - January 3, 2011

    […] sign that tonight was the night to cross #27 – ‘Drink a glass of red wine’ off my 40 Before 40 list, and cross it off I […]

  8. Post a Week 2011 « wildmudturtle writes - January 8, 2011

    […] day for NaBloPoMo, National Blog Posting Month. During the month of November, I used my blog to set some goals for myself. A few of those goals were about writing. One, to post to my blog at least once a week for a […]

  9. #1 Get a Really Short Haircut « wildmudturtle writes - June 23, 2011

    […] I haven’t forgotten my 40 Before 40 list. But, the clock is ticking. So, for my first haircut of the summer I thought it would be […]

  10. Day One – My summer has 62 days! « wildmudturtle writes - June 28, 2011

    […] of the items on my 40 Before 40 list is to spend at least a half hour writing every day this summer. Today is day one. When […]

  11. Day 39 – My Nemesis « wildmudturtle writes - August 5, 2011

    […] 39 reminds me that I’m 39, soon to be 40. If my 40 Before 40 list were a pregnancy I’d be ripe and ready. Nine months ago I created a list of forty things I […]

  12. Day 40 – #17 Lose 20lbs and Keep it Off « wildmudturtle writes - August 6, 2011

    […] four times already. The problem was keeping it off. I chose twenty as a number because when I put my list out I had already lost close to twenty pounds, so if I lost another twenty I’d be down almost […]

Leave a Reply

