Would you help me move?

17 Nov

I’m not moving, nor do I plan on moving anytime soon. However, that’s Jimmy Kimmel’s way of finding out who his real friends are. Because, “here’s what William Shatner told Jimmy Kimmel: “These people on Facebook, they’re not your friends. You want to know who your friends are? Post a status update that says ‘I’m moving this weekend and I need help.’ The people that respond? Those are your friends! Everyone else isn’t.” When my husband and I moved into the house we’re in now we had a handful of friends and family who helped us move. It’s been almost eight years, and I’d like to say those people are still our closest friends. But, to be honest, we don’t really have many close friends anymore. If we go out with people, we almost always initiate it. I guess two years of being too busy to do anything because I was working full time and getting my masters at the same time really took its toll. People get tired of hearing excuses no matter how valid.

Today is Facebook’s National Unfriend Day, but I didn’t unfriend anyone, at least not today, did you? I’m guessing that most of us have unfriended someone before. Why would we do this? For one reason or another, we trusted these people enough at one time to allow them to view our status updates and photos. What could happen to make us want to unfriend them? I’m not sure about others, especially those who have deleted me. But, I’ve deleted people whose status updates were annoying. For instance, I had an acquaintance from high school on my list a few years ago that still lived in her parents’ basement apartment. She would post status updates about her drunken adventures that were stupid and ridiculous. We were never close, and I didn’t need to read her toxic crap. DELETE. I doubt she noticed.

Most of us with any number of friends on facebook have been deleted by someone before, and I’d bet there have people who delete me and I’ve not noticed. But then there are those who disappear from our list and it makes you wonder what you did to make them feel the need to unfriend you. I’ve had two noticeable unfriendings. One was a friend from high school, who remained a friend until long after we both had children. About twelve years ago she and her husband moved away for his job and I even went to visit and stay with her for a weekend. When we found each other on facebook a couple of years ago I was thrilled. We never really had any major contact over facebook, and I can’t think what I would have said (typed) that could have possibly offended her.

It sucks to be unfriended, especially by people who you once considered a good friend. So, no I will not be unfriending anyone today, nor any day soon. I’ll choose my friends, facebook and otherwise carefully, and plan on creating new friendships and building on existing ones, rather than deleting them. Here’s to the friends that would help us move!

3 Responses to “Would you help me move?”

  1. Heidi Hoyt November 18, 2010 at 11:15 AM #

    I moved, had a puppy, Mum had cancer and son broke his arm all in one week and you definitley find out quick!! Glad that week is over! I will not be moving again!! 🙂

  2. Leanne November 18, 2010 at 11:56 AM #

    I’m finding out this year how precious my friends are! I’m starting to make a few new ones, but it’s a hard process, and has made me appreciate the longterm friendships I have even more. I like the moving analogy. We have had friends help with some tough moves. Really shows who the people of character in your life are.

  3. Debbie G November 18, 2010 at 12:59 PM #

    Heidi, I don’t plan on moving anytime soon either. I’m glad you have a core group of people who are there for you when you need them. You can’t beat that!

    Leanne, I can’t imagine what it is like starting over. It must be both nervewracking and full of possiblities at the same time. I’m in the process of reconnecting with a few friends. It can be difficult to do when you’ve let the relationship drift away.

Leave a Reply

