Bread

20 Nov

100% Whole Wheat Bread

You might have noticed that after I posted my 40 Before 40 list that Glenn posted a list of his own. One item on his list was “bake bread”, I questioned this and he said “yes” he was going to bake bread. This morning when I went to take Savanna to her basketball game in Nackawic, Glenn went to Canadian Tire and bought a bread machine. I was the first to use it, so if he posts today that ‘he’ baked bread don’t believe him.

I’m writing this as it cools. The recipe says to let it cool for at least 20 minutes before cutting it. I’m not sure it’ll taste okay; I accidently put a little too much salt in. And, by a little, I mean a lot, double. I’m not sure why it looks so lumpy, not at all like the photo in the recipe. Once it cools enough to taste, I’ll let you know the verdict.

I may try this recipe again, with the correct amount of salt next time. But, if anyone out there in blogdom has a recipe that works well for them, I’d love it if you’d share the recipe. Now I must get moving on my own list items!

***********************

Okay, I tasted it, so did Glenn. It had a fantastic consistency despite its lumpy looking exterior. I’ll defintely make this recipe again! But this loaf went straight to the garbage. Oh gross! 1 1/2 teaspoons extra salt is A LOT of extra salt! If I had known what a difference it would make I would have thrown it out when I realized the mistake I made. Instead I spent three hours waiting for and smelling the delicious aroma of fresh baked bread. I let you know what I really think of this recipe, once I follow it correctly.

One Response to “Bread”

  1. Debbie G November 21, 2010 at 8:54 PM #

    My second loaf of bread is in the bread machine, with the correct amount of salt this time. We should have homemade whole wheat bread for breakfast tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

