#23 Houseplant

21 Nov

On Thursday night my friend Leslie posted on her status, I “have three house plants I would like to get rid of before Max eats them all! One is a Christmas cactus that is just starting to bloom and two other beautiful plants that I don’t know the name of!!! All in matching pots.” This sounded like the perfect opportunity for me to get #23 on my 40 Before 40 list started! A fairly easy one to deal with too, I thought. I responded right away, and tonight I went to pick up two of the three plants.

I hope she didn’t think I’d completely lost it when I asked her to pose for a photo for my blog with the plants she was giving to me. If a friend walked into my house at 7:30 on a randon Sunday night wanting to take my photo, I might not be as accommodating as Leslie was.

We had a short, but good little visit. Savanna and ZuZu came along. ZuZu met their dog Max and they played a bit, and Savanna and Ben visited while Leslie and I chatted. Ben helped me carry the plants out to the car. I can’t believe how much our kids have grown and matured.

Glenn didn’t really want me to adopt plants. I had no idea what kind of plants I’d be getting or how big or small they were. He thought I’d be better of buying one. But I thought adopting plants was way more exciting, especially if I’m going to blog about it. I really wanted a rubber tree plant, because it is the only kind I’ve ever successfully kept before for any length of time. It unfortunately froze to death when my house was broken into thirteen years ago this Christmas, but that’s a story for another time! So, when I brought the plants in and put them on the counter Glenn said, “ooooh, these are nice.” Yes, I won’t have to lug them to school. There’s a bit of role reversal in our home. If Glenn didn’t like them, they probably wouldn’t have lasted long.

So I did a little research to find out what kind of plants these were and how to care for them. The one with the pink tinged leaves is a Croton. It needs moderate to bright sunlight so I put it on the sofa table in front of our living room window. I hope it likes it there, because it is supposed to like warm temperatures and it might be too cold so close to the window. If I need to, I can move it to the coffee table. The soil needs to stay moist and the leaves need to be misted. I’ll have to go by a spray bottle. The croton is considered a difficult to grow houseplant, but Leslie seems to have done a lovely job. Hopefully I won’t do anything to hurt it.

The plant on the left is a Dumb Cane (Dieffenbachia). Unlike the Croton it is supposed to be easy to care for. I figure with two plants I bound to be able to keep at least one of them alive for six months. It too likes to be kept moist, but doesn’t require as much light, so it is living on the buffet I have against the wall on the right as you go into my living room.

I’m really excited to see how well I can keep these plants. I wonder if this whole being bad with houseplants is just one of those things I’ve convinced myself that I inherited from my mother, when really it’s just because I haven’t really given it a fair chance. I guess if I’m going to have a negative legacy, it could be far worse than simply not having good luck with houseplants. But, I’m glad I’ve got the chance to challenge that! I’ve only completed half of the original list item that said, “Get a houseplant and keep it alive for six months.” I can’t imagine anything too exciting that would cause me to write about these again in the next six months, but who knows?

3 Responses to “#23 Houseplant”

  1. Glenn November 22, 2010 at 10:09 AM #

    I’m sure you can keep them alive for 6 months… providing no one does a little plant euthanasia… heh heh heh!

  2. Denise Nielsen November 22, 2010 at 10:50 AM #

    Good for you. I love house plants, but my husband is definitely the one who keeps them alive. Left to me, they’d have to be plastic.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 40 Before 40 « wildmudturtle writes - August 5, 2011

    […] Get a houseplant and keep it alive for at least six months. […]

Leave a Reply

