Last of the Red Hot Fools

25 Nov

Every Thursday Savanna has an enrichment program, and it’s held in a church hall on Church Street downtown. I go pick her and a few others up on my prep and drive them back to school. Today I had some errands to run, so I dropped them off at school and went to run my errands. As I was driving back to school and listening to the radio, I heard an old song that I absolutely LOVE! Every time I hear it I want to sing and dance. But, to be brutally honest I couldn’t carry a tune even if it had comfy handles.

Taking into consideration my musical handicap, I rarely let others hear me sing. This is difficult because I do love to sing, and I think that’s why God spared me the talent to do so. I’d likely be ridiculed for breaking out into random song on a regular basis if I thought that my singing wasn’t offensive. So, when I find myself alone in my car, with the radio playing an awesome ‘sing-along’ song, I can’t help myself. I don’t care what drivers in oncoming cars think when they see me obviously singing with wild abandon slapping the steering wheel like it was my own personal drum. They don’t know me, nor will likely ever remember if they see me again.

Car singing relieves stress! If you don’t believe me, give it a try for yourself. Today at lunch, I was rocking out to The Jitters “Last of the Red Hot Fools”. I don’t care if anyone saw me and thought that I was a red hot fool, but it won’t be the last time! If you don’t know the song, or know it and haven’t heard it in a while, have a listen:

3 Responses to “Last of the Red Hot Fools”

  1. Susan O'Donnell November 25, 2010 at 5:01 PM #

    Debbie…I LOVE this song as well..and as far as singing in the car, I am famous for it…lol. It does make a person feel good. The kids used to ask me to stop..lol.
    I love reading your blogs, they are very interesting. I did not know about “little three eyes” until yesterday. Learn something new everyday!!! Thanks.

  2. Mary Patterson November 25, 2010 at 5:12 PM #

    I love to sing everywhere, Debbie you just keep on singing!!

  3. Blair Packham March 20, 2015 at 3:27 PM #

    Hey there! Not sure how it took me so long to see this, but I just did and I want to say thanks for liking my song! You are very kind.

Leave a Reply

