Happy Birthday Mom!

30 Nov

I’ve been putting off writing my blog tonight, but if I want to watch Glee when it comes on, I can’t put it off any longer. Today is my mother’s birthday, and I want to write a tribute to her. The problem is that I have so much love in my heart and I’m so grateful for her that I don’t know where to begin.

I guess I’ll start with the last two days. My mother spent yesterday and today, her birthday, cleaning my house from top to bottom, well actually bottom to top. She enlisted some help that I will have to pay, worth every penny by the way, but my mother did it just because she loves me. How many mothers do that for their adult children? She knows how busy we are with everything and saw how she could help, and did it.

Tonight we celebrated how we usually do on Mom’s birthday. Dad cooked her a birthday dinner, I made cupcakes and took them over, and after supper Seldon and I decorated her tree for her. This was the first year I have had help. Savanna shows zero interest in most things domestic. While we were doing that Savanna downloaded ‘Skype’ for her Nanny so she could skype with Greg & Patti when the baby arrives. They took this photo on the webcam with Mom’s new laptop.

The older my own children get, the more I understand and appreciate everything my mother has done for me! I couldn’t tell you everything because she has done so much. But, as an adult she has given me more than I could ever expect. Both of my parents have been gracious and giving, always!

Last year mom was very sick. She spent most of her summer in the hospital and almost a whole month in a quarantined room. She’s getting stronger every week. I’m grateful that she spent the last couple of days cleaning my house, but more than that I’m grateful that she is well enough for me to even consider allowing her to do that. We were fearful we’d lose Mom last summer and I don’t take for granted a single day we have to live this life together now.

I love you Mom! Happy Birthday!

2 Responses to “Happy Birthday Mom!”

  1. Leanne November 30, 2010 at 11:31 PM #

    Congratulations, Debbie! Great job! I’m looking forward to continuing to follow your blog. Don’t let too many days go by before you post again!

  2. Mary Patterson December 1, 2010 at 12:04 AM #

    Mom’s are the best. I needed soup made for Beavers, Cubs and Scouts and my mom made the biggest pot of the best soup ever. Mom’s are priceless.I hope your mom had a great birthday!!

Leave a Reply

