I’ll take his word for it!

4 Dec

Tonight we went to see TNB’s production of “Treasure Island.” Glenn said it wasn’t the best thing we’ve seen from TNB and I’m going to have to take his word for it. For the last year or so, TNB has been starting with shorts that showcase local playwrights. Tonight’s short was called “The Marketeer” and it was parody of the typical market goer, vendor, and first time marketeers. Glenn and I both laughed out loud. Yes, we LOL’d!

As for the main feature, I slept through it. Don’t get me wrong, it’s not because I wasn’t interested. I paid good money for those tickets and I had every intention of watching the play. I started to nod almost immediately. I felt my eyes closing and my head falling forward, then backward because I was trying to compensate. I tried forcing my eyes open, and shifting in my seat but nothing worked.

After several head nods, I gave it to it and put my head on Glenn’s shoulder and slept through the entire first half. During intermission I got up and went out to the bathroom, more because I thought it might help me to wake up then out of necessity. It didn’t. I did catch the first ten minutes or so of the second half but that was it. Glenn nudged me awake as they were singing “I Saw Three Ships” at the end of the performance.

This is the second play I’ve slept though, and it probably won’t be the last. However, I’ll continue to take my chances. We have such a wonderful opportunity here in Fredericton to see quality local theatre.

Leave a Reply

