Potential Snow Day Ritual

5 Dec

The potential snow day is always a source of contention in our house. I long for snow days, even more than my children do. For me, a snow day mean a day to catch up. I spent several hours this weekend doing stuff for work. I marked, scanned photos and spent some time planning. But I still have so much more I could do! For Glenn, snow days mean he has to get up early and snow blow the yard and shovel the walk, then go to work while everyone else in our house stays home, then come home and do the snow removal thing all over again.

Before Christmas the potential snow day is even more longed for, because besides the bag full of marking I haven’t done yet I still need to decorate the narrow tree that lives in our entry way, write out Christmas cards and bake. If I get a snow day tomorrow I think I can accomplish the marking, decorating and cards. It’s too soon for me to bake anyway. I’d just eat too much of it if I started now.

We have this potential snow day ritual in our house. The weather network is consulted several times the day before. The evening before, the children and I wear our pajamas inside out. But, my real ritual starts in the wee hours of the morning. When I get up around 4:30 AM to go to the bathroom, I check outside to see what’s happening. Then, I start tossing and turning in expectation. Sometimes I’m able to go back to sleep. When my alarm goes off at 6:09 I hit snooze, then call the district’s transportation hotline to see if school is cancelled. If it isn’t, I get up right away and shut my alarm off. I’m not going to sleep for nine more minutes now! If it is cancelled I turn the alarm off and snuggle down. I usually don’t sleep much longer, but it feels good to not have to get up.

Glenn graciously takes care of the snow removal without much complaint. I think the biggest issue he has with potential snow days, is the hostile atmosphere of our home in the morning when we were counting on a snow day, and didn’t get it. I don’t really think it’s all that bad, but he tells a different story.

I’ll leave you with a few photos of snow days past:

Savanna - December '04

Savanna - January '07

The snowman keeps getting bigger!

Savanna & Frosty - January '07

Glenn - February '09

Glenn - February '09

Clearing off the deck '09

Savanna - February '09

4 Responses to “Potential Snow Day Ritual”

  1. Pat Rogers December 5, 2010 at 10:51 PM #

    Well, potential snow days are a cause for excitement. However, I sometimes wonder if we count on them way to much. I know that I always can expect teasing from my brothers on a snow day. Could it be good natured or are they really jealous that their emplyer did tell them that they did not have to work that day. Personally sometimes I love a snow day but sometimes I don’t want one, especially as we get close to exams.

    It is funny how there are so many rituals associated with the dreaming and wishing and hoping. Really is wearing your pj’s inside out going to ensure the snow flying around so much that you are granted the snow day wish, maybe. What about the snow dance, witll that work? I do know that all wht public wishing and publishing of the “Ok, everybody wear your pj’s inside out and backwards tonight.” will jinx granting.

    My recomendation–go to sleep tonight, rest well and if you hear on the radio or the distict snow hotline that there is a snow day–well enjoy and revel in the gift.

    • Pat Rogers December 5, 2010 at 10:54 PM #

      oops, I just realized I missed a word in my comment. I should read–could it be that they are relly jealous that their employer did NOT tell them that …

  2. Leanne December 6, 2010 at 2:42 PM #

    We love snow days too, but have been told that they are a rare occurence in London. Luckily, we are experiencing the biggest snowstorm in four years! No school today! And I heard you lucked out, too, but without the shovelling, so Glenn must be happy. Enjoy!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2010 in Review | wildmudturtle writes - January 2, 2011

    […] Potential Snow Day Ritual December 2010 3 comments 4 […]

Leave a Reply

