Procrastination

30 Dec

Before I titled this blog post, I had to check back and make sure there wasn’t another post with the same title. It certainly seems like there should be. I procrastinate at least as much as the worst procrastinators I know. In fact, sometimes I put things off so long I just don’t bother with them and need to make different decisions. Just this evening I was planning on having air popped popcorn as a snack and I got playing a computer game and lost track of time. At 10:20 I decided it was too late for a snack. No big deal. I procrastinated with my Christmas cards this year, then decided that sending out cards is a tradition I’m done with. Who knows, maybe next year I’ll be more organized and change my mind.

A couple of months ago, when I was coming up empty for something to post on my blog, I ended up writing a list of forty things I wanted to do before I turn forty. I’m going to go ahead and say this hefty list absolves me from making any separate New Year’s Resolutions tomorrow. The problem? When I wrote my list, I had fifteen months to accomplish these things, now I only have thirteen months and I’ve only really accomplished one of these things. At this rate I won’t do half of those things! So, I’ve decided my list needs to be more visual. I need to be able to see my colossal ‘to do’ list in front of me if I hope to make a dent in it any time soon. So, I’ve printed it and put in on my refrigerator. This, 2011, is the only full year I’m going to have before I turn forty. I need to get moving.

After an assessment of what needs to be done, I realize that some of these things depend on summer weather, participation of others, or vacation time travel. So, once I set those things aside, I still have a decent list of things I can accomplish easily and soon. I’m going to start small and plan well for the big stuff. My tendency is to procrastinate. If you’re a reader of this blog, feel free to remind me occasionally if I’m not pacing myself well enough to complete my list. I’d love to have you keep me accountable.

Leave a Reply

