Beat the Blahs!

25 Jan

It’s January 25th. Christmas was one month ago today. It’s definitely over, and all traces of it are gone at my house. The trees are down; the outside decorations are resting in the basement for another year; all the decorations we put out just at Christmastime are hidden away for another ten months or so. But, the one that isn’t gone is winter! It seems to be just getting started, even though it feels like we’ve had the whole season already. It should be spring, right? Well, it’s not, so I guess I’m going to have to deal with that. I think I have a genuine case of the blahs! So I’m writing this just as much for myself as anyone else.

Here are seven surefire ways to get rid of the blah, winter blahs or any old kind of blahs:

1) Listen to Music. This sound simple and it is. Sometimes when I find myself feeling down, music I enjoy listening to can create a different mood and it usually lifts me up.

2) Plan something you’ll look forward to. It could be as elaborate as planning your next vacation. But, it doesn’t have to be that big. Make a spa appointment, or just schedule a haircut. It could be dinner and movie date, or an outing with your family. Call a friend you haven’t seen in a while and plan on going for coffee. Sometimes the blahs creep in after Christmas, vacation or some other time that has been enjoyable. The best way to beat those blahs are to plan something you look forward to by counting the days. Thirty-eight more days until Spring Break, but who is counting?

3) Make a to-do list. Sometimes I get the blahs when I’m feeling overwhelmed with the number of things I have to do. I find making a list and getting things on the list completed makes me feel good. I even write things on my list that I’d have done anyway without the list. Crossing ‘to-do’ items off a list helps me feel accomplished. Once you’ve got your list, start with the most dreaded task. Just getting that one out of the way will drive those blahs away.

4) Relax on purpose. Oh sure, I relax almost every evening. After supper and homework, mine and the kids, I usually plop myself on the couch in front of the television with my laptop on my lap. That’s not what I’m talking about. Go find a spot where you don’t usually sit and get comfortable and enjoy a book. Take a leisurely bath with your favourite drink. Treat yourself to candles and music or a good book. Just don’t drop your eReader in the water; that’ll just create more blahs. Do yoga or journal. Relax on purpose in a way that you enjoy, but never make the time for it.

5) Exercise. If you don’t already exercise, find time to fit it into your schedule. I know, I know, you’ve heard it all before and all that stuff about a pot and a kettle. You know that bit about how exercise helps you have more energy, yada yada yada. It does, but it can also help lift you out of the blahs. Having more energy will help you out of the blahs, but knowing your doing something healthy for your body helps too. If regular exercise is already part of your routine, try something new. Yoga is my personal favourite. It helps me both physically and mentally.

6) Spend time with people you love. I don’t mean when you crash in front of the television at the same time. Do something together. It doesn’t have to cost money. Go for a walk. You’ll get exercise and time to talk that you probably wouldn’t have taken otherwise.

7) Do something for others. One of the best ways to feel good about yourself is to give to others. Seeing the ability you have to lift someone else’s spirits will automatically lift you up out of funk.

Finally, if you’re really depressed, seek help. Depression is a real medical condition and there’s no need to be ashamed of it. I believe that happiness is a choice, for the most part. I choose to be happy because it makes my day better, but you cannot will yourself out of real depression.

So, now I’m going to take my own advice. How do you beat the blahs? Remember, this is a ‘family’ blog.

4 Responses to “Beat the Blahs!”

  1. The Zenful Blogger January 25, 2011 at 2:00 PM #

    Thanks for sharing this post! Here’s my list of To-dos (and more importantly reminders to do the to-dos). Check it out if you have time: http://wp.me/pXkng-3R
    Peace,
    -TZB

  2. Denise January 25, 2011 at 9:26 PM #

    Again I must say how much I enjoy relaxing and reading your blog Debbie. Keep writing & inspiring us. :0)

  3. Velvet Howe January 27, 2011 at 8:53 AM #

    I find that when I am feeling a blah, I do something nice for someone else. That lifts their spirits and in turn lifts mine.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 58 – My summer has been GREAT! « wildmudturtle writes - August 24, 2011

    […] summer are nearly over, and they’ll only really last to relieve my work related stress until the late January snow becomes unbearable. But, I can live with that, because then it’s the hope of another beautiful summer like this […]

Leave a Reply

