More on Happiness

20 Apr

I recently gave my students an interesting project where I encouraged them to ask big life questions, those kinds of questions that don’t have a definitive answer. They may have many different answers, but not one specific one. Some of their questions have been:

  • What happens to you when you die, or do humans have souls that live on after their bodies die?
  • Why do bad things happen to good people?
  • If we could control our every emotion, would we be perfect?
  • Are their other planets in the solar system that sustain intelligent life?
  • If there is an afterlife, is there a beforelife?

My students have asked some fantastic and interesting questions. I’m doing the project along with them, hence all the writing about happiness. My big question is: Is it realist to expect happiness?

Once my students have their question they must draw out a theme; mine is: true happiness. Then, they must find a book, fiction or non-fiction, that deals with their theme. I’m reading The Book of Awesome by Neil Pasricha. They’ll read their book, and do all kinds of writing exploring different genres through their chosen theme. So far, I’ve drafted three poems along with my post about happiness a couple of days ago. I’m excited to see what my students will do!

After my post a couple of days ago Leanne, a friend of mine from London, Ontario emailed me and shared her post from a couple of years ago on happiness. Leanne linked to her friend’s blog about happiness and there I found the lyrics to a song about happiness from You’re a Good Man, Charlie Brown. I shared these lyrics with my students yesterday as we started to write free verse poetry, and last night one of my students emailed me a youtube clip from the cartoon version. Here it is, enjoy!

One Response to “More on Happiness”

  1. Denise Nielsen April 21, 2011 at 10:38 AM #

    This is great – love the video. Leanne told me you’d linked to my blog, and I’m honoured. Would love to hear what your students came up with. Happiness is on the table again at our book club – it seems like some of us have a hard time pinning it down. A new post about happiness – and others’ perceptions of it – has been percolating in my mind for a week or more, and now, inspired by your posts, I may just get to it. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

