#1 Get a Really Short Haircut

23 Jun

Before

No, I haven’t forgotten my 40 Before 40 list. But, the clock is ticking. So, for my first haircut of the summer I thought it would be appropriate to complete the first item on my list. I will admit, I wasn’t sure about cutting it all off. My last short haircut was eight years ago, and today I got it cut even shorter than it was then. Halfway through the cut I wanted to scream, “Wait, what are you doing? Put that back! Stop!” But, from the first big snip, I knew there was no turning back.

When it was almost done my stylist started exclaiming, “Oh, you’re going to love this… it’ll be so easy to do… Oh, how cute!” And, all I could think was yeah, it’s not your hair. You just don’t want me to freak out right here, right now. But, I also realized she did exactly what I had asked her to do, and that was to cut it REALLY short! (Tammy, do you ever wonder what’s going on in your client’s brain when they get really quiet near the end of a dramtically different cut? Well, now you know.)

After

Glenn really likes short hair on women, and is always encouraging me to get it cut. But, I was even concerned he would think it was just too short. I shouldn’t have worried, he loved it! And, so did both the kids, which really shocked me. I thought Seldon would hate if for sure. I’m the only one who is still not convinced. I didn’t freak out our anything, and I know that my hair grows quickly. So, if I decide I don’t like it, all I have to do is wait… it’ll grow back.

Don’t get me wrong, I like the dramatic change, and I don’t dislike the cut. I just haven’t decided if I like it any better than the way I had my hair before. Who knows, the ease of caring for and styling it may win me over in a matter of days. I’m sure that, just like the hair itself, it’ll grow on me.

 
One Response to “#1 Get a Really Short Haircut”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 40 Before 40 « wildmudturtle writes - August 5, 2011

    […] Get a really short haircut. […]

Leave a Reply

