Day One – My summer has 62 days!

28 Jun

One of the items on my 40 Before 40 list is to spend at least a half hour writing every day this summer. Today is day one. When writing, a half hour goes by so quickly. I may not write a blog post every day, but write I will! It is a long term goal to write a novel, and I will start that this summer, but I certainly won’t finish it. Half an hour is barely enough time to compose a blog entry.

Today was a busy first day of summer vacation. Of course I slept in! But, what defines sleeping in has changed over the years. I slept in until 8:15 and I wish I had gotten up earlier. I was stuffed up and I tossed and turned from 6:00 until I got up. I might as well have gotten up at 7:00. This morning I went to the gym, then took Seldon to the optometrist and shopping for sandals and a watch. This afternoon I had a mammogram and went to the insurance office. Now it’s a little after 3:00 and I’m rewarding myself with a cup of coffee and a little laptop time.

With all of my time in waiting rooms today I started reading Have a Little Faith by Mitch Albom. There were two quotes from what I read today that I think are poignant enough to share:

“The most inspirational man I knew only reached his potential by helping a child reach his.” (pg. 39)

“…faith is about doing. You are how you act, not just how you believe.” (pg. 44)

I have a long reading list for the summer. They are, in no particular order (after the first two):

  1. Have a Little Faith by Mitch Albom
  2. The Book of Negroes by Lawrence Hill
  3. Sister Wife by Shelley Hrdlitschka
  4. Ophelia by Lisa Klein
  5. When You Are Engulfed in Flames by David Sedaris
  6. Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr
  7. The Heretic’s Daughter by Kathleen Kent
  8. The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith
  9. Freedom by Jonathan Franzen

If I read them all it’ll be at about the rate of one book a week. My idea of summer fun=as much time as possible spent reading in a deck chair.

Tomorrow’s adventures include trying Yoga for the first time. I’m excited to do that. Any Fredericton Goodlife members want to join me?

9 Responses to “Day One – My summer has 62 days!”

  1. awoodlandrose June 28, 2011 at 7:33 PM #

    Have fun with the reading and writing. Go easy on the yoga. It is easy to hurt yourself trying too hard in the beginning.

    • Debbie G June 29, 2011 at 1:31 PM #

      We’ll see you in less than three weeks now! Yoga was great, and the instructor was awesome. I pushed myself a bit, but not too far.

  2. Lori June 28, 2011 at 8:51 PM #

    Are you reading the paper copy of the books? Do you read on your kindle much?
    Enjoy your summer. I am marking this week so mine doesn’t start until next week. However, I will have much more home/relaxing time this summer than the last two! 🙂

    • Debbie G June 29, 2011 at 1:30 PM #

      I’m reading the paper copies of the ones in the photos. I borrowed most of those from our English department’s book stash. “Freedom” and “The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency” are already on my kindle. I use my kindle enough. I usually buy the book whatever way I can get it cheaper.

      You enjoy your summer too! It is nice not to be packing to spend 3 weeks in a dorm!

  3. Leanne June 28, 2011 at 9:28 PM #

    As you know, my idea of summer fun is very similar! I think my reading list is at least that long. Maybe I’ll blog about it tomorrow. Thanks for inspiring me!

    • Debbie G June 29, 2011 at 1:39 PM #

      I look forward to reading your blog tomorrow, and borrowing from your list! Happy last day of school!

  4. Shana Stokes June 29, 2011 at 9:27 AM #

    Love your summer reading list! If you ever get the chance to read The Diviners by Margaret Laurence you will not regret it…one of my favorites! Have a great day!

    Shana

    • Debbie G June 29, 2011 at 1:40 PM #

      Thanks Shana, I’ll add it to my growing list. Tell Jessica I think her prom dress was the nicest one I saw this year!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day Five – Distant Noises « wildmudturtle writes - July 2, 2011

    […] reading Mitch Albom’s have a little faith and I’m glad I chose it as the first one to read from my summer reading list. It was a quick but thought provoking read. When I read the following part today I knew it would be […]

Leave a Reply

