Day Two – Challenging Myself

29 Jun

I’m not sure if counting each of my days this summer is such a good idea. It could end up being depressing and distressing as the days left become fewer than the days already spent. If nothing else, it’ll keep me accountable to myself for how I spend my days. I’d hate to waste a single day of vacation!

This morning I got up earlier than yesterday, thinking I’d have a few minutes with my husband before he left for work, but found I was home alone. I had completely forgotten that he was going to the dentist and had to call him to find out where he was. So, I killed almost an hour reading email, checking facebook, my blog stats, etc. over breakfast. Then I got ready to go to the gym. I was going to Yoga for 10:15, but I had to pack to shower at the gym because with only 45 minutes after the class to get to my 12:00 meeting downtown, I didn’t have time to come home.

The Yoga class was interesting, and unlike any other exercise I’ve done. I sweat, eventually, but it wasn’t easy. The instructor would come out into the class to correct our poses (mostly mine) and at one point when I was modifying something I just couldn’t hold she asked, “Is it your knees?” I honestly had no idea what it was. I said, “No, I’m just not strong enough to do it.” I don’t even remember now what ‘it’ was, but she chuckled and said, “No worries,” and moved on. I didn’t need to do a yoga class to let me know that I’m not very flexible, but I must say I didn’t feel embarrassed by what I couldn’t do. I put my all into it, and pushed myself to do everything, even though some of it completely missed the mark. It’s not vigorous exercise, but challenging just the same. I’m going to add this to my list of classes I want to keep doing and challenge myself to continue to improve.

Showering at the gym was something new for me. I never understood why someone would do that unless they absolutely had to, but today I had to and it was easier to deal with than I imagined. I brought my own shower gel, and shampoo but they even provide that stuff. Next time, if there is a next time, I’ll remember my deodorant.

Tonight we’re planning on dinner out with friends; usually we go out on our own, so I’m glad for the company. Tomorrow’s adventures include an early morning trip to the gym, a much needed pedicure and an afternoon working with a couple of colleagues on a Canadian Authors unit for the fall. I know it hasn’t even been a week, and I’m working on the fall already. Hopefully it’ll reduce some of the start-up stress in September.

2 Responses to “Day Two – Challenging Myself”

  1. ken October 20, 2014 at 12:41 AM #

    Damn your feet are pretty!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 58 – My summer has been GREAT! « wildmudturtle writes - August 24, 2011

    […] did a few touristy things that included a day in NYC. I really got into my groove at the gym trying a bunch of new classes including, accidently of course, body combat. I was lucky enough to go to the best workshop […]

Leave a Reply

