Day Eight – Making Memories

5 Jul

I’m not sure whether to be flattered or offended, but today when I took my niece for a little walk after supper so she could catch her evening catnap almost every person I encountered smiled and spoke to me. That NEVER happens! One elderly couple stopped and stuck their faces into the stroller.

“What’s her name?” The elderly woman enquired.

“Lauren,” I answered.

“How old is she?”

“Ah,” I had to think, “four months.”

“Well, she’s awfully sweet.”

“Thank-you,” I said as I began to push the stroller forward. Obviously she assumed Lauren was my daughter, but I didn’t bother to correct her. Heck, I didn’t know her, so what difference does it make? One lady was reading on her front porch and called out a “hello” even though it appeared that she didn’t even notice that someone was passing. I must have been beaming with pride, because I don’t remember getting any kind of reaction like that when Savanna and Seldon were little.

It was my goal to go for a walk with Lauren and get to push the stroller a little bit, but I got one better. I took her for a little walk all by myself. Greg took her for a walk after supper because she was beginning to fuss. She usually naps for a half hour after supper, but when he came back with her she was still awake. He stopped the stroller for a minute or two and she was fussing again. He was getting up to take her back out, and I asked if I could. It was perfect, we were only gone a few minutes when she dozed off.

I’m loving this time with my brother and family. We’re having fun and making new memories.

Leave a Reply

