Day 14 – Oh Beulah Land

11 Jul

Yesterday afternoon we came home from Beulah. I spent nearly the whole week there with my family. It’s the first time in three years that I’ve been able to go. For the last two years, I was in Halifax at the Mount doing course work for my masters program.

For those of you who have no idea what I’m talking about, let me explain. My family has a cottage in Brown’s Flat, NB on a church campgrounds. Beulah Camp belongs to the Wesleyan Church and was founded in 1894 on 85 acres of land on the Saint John River. It is part of my family’s heritage to attend Beulah Camp the first week of July every year. My father can remember, as a child, travelling on a boat from Fredericton to Beulah. My parents bought a cottage at Beulah 27 years ago, and I’ve been going there ever since.

My kids have grown up going to Beulah. They both love it, and would be extremely upset if we had to miss it. They have never missed one.

This was an odd Beulah year for me. Usually I spend my days socializing with friends, hanging out on the beach (the rocky land by the river). This year I didn’t go to the beach once.

My kids aren’t so little anymore and they swim at the wharf with their friends, or hang out with their friends and participate in youth events. With Savanna working at Caton’s Island, a summer camp for kids in the middle of the river near Beulah and also owned by the Wesleyan Church, she wasn’t around much. Adding to that, Lauren, my four month old niece spending Beulah week with us this year, I found that I didn’t stray too far from the cottage. Beulah week always starts on the first Friday in July. This year, it was July 1st–the earliest Beulah week ever starts.I finished working on Monday, and Beulah started Friday. So, I didn’t push myself. I went out when I wanted to and stayed close to the cottage most of the time. Although I did drag myself down to the deck of the ‘hotel’ every night, the only place on the whole campground I could get internet access. I had to publish my blog.

Now that I’m home, I realize that I did miss seeing some of the people I usually talk to, but there’s always next year, right?

2 Responses to “Day 14 – Oh Beulah Land”

  1. Lauren March 24, 2013 at 3:26 PM #

    Haha! This article made my day! It’s almost as if it’s some sort of a promise that summer is coming soon. (My family has a cottage in Brown’s Flat as well!) Good job 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 58 – My summer has been GREAT! « wildmudturtle writes - August 24, 2011

    […] let myself live in the state of self-pity for too long. I HAVE had a great summer. I got to spend ten days at the cottage with my family and a whole week with my niece, brother and sister-in-law. Glenn and I made two trips to New Jersey […]

Leave a Reply

