Day 17 – “How did it get so late so soon?” ~Dr. Seuss

14 Jul

Did you ever lose track of time? Did you ever stay longer than you intended because you were just having too much fun to go home? Did you ever have one of those conversations with a friend that you haven’t seen in years and it seemed like it just flowed easily and effortlessly? This is what happened to me this afternoon.

I went to have coffee with a friend, more like an acquaintance, from my past. She was a friend of a friend that I’ve kept in touch with via facebook. I say ‘was’ because I can’t imagine not continuing to meet for coffee, or whatever else, on a regular basis now. I went over armed with my reading material from my masters program, because she’s considering applying for the same program. I aimed to be there at 1PM but it was more like 1:30 before I got there, and I told my husband I expected to leave there by 3PM at the latest. I had plans for the rest of my afternoon.

Over a glass of merlot, we started by talking about the masters program. I loved what I took, and like to talk about it to someone who is interested. But, after, we talked about our kids, parenting, friendships, marriage, pets, church, vacation, etc. etc. I’m sure we could’ve kept talking well into the evening if we didn’t have kids and husbands to tend to.

Denise, I love your philosophy. Summer is about relaxing with friends and doing as little as possible. Let’s do nothing together again sometime very soon.

2 Responses to “Day 17 – “How did it get so late so soon?” ~Dr. Seuss”

  1. Denise July 15, 2011 at 8:00 PM #

    Awe Debbie, not only are you sweet but, a wonderful inspiration. I too enjoyed our relaxing afternoon on the deck, sipping a sweet Merlot and catching up. Thanks for your company, masters tips and bringing a special ray of light to a summer afternoon with lots of reflections and giggles. We must do it again sometime soon. Friends like you are a rare delight. :0)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 58 – My summer has been GREAT! « wildmudturtle writes - August 24, 2011

    […] I’ve attended in my whole career. And, I’ve read some great books. I’ve spent quality time with friends and family, and blogged all along the way. With my last two summers cut short by course work for my […]

Leave a Reply

