Day 19 – Fish ‘n’ Chips

16 Jul

When it comes to fish ‘n’ chips, I’m spoiled. I rarely order them at restaurants in Fredericton because I’m never completely satisfied. A few times a year, we’ll drive from the cottage in Brown’s Flat to Black’s Harbour just to go for fish ‘n’ chips at the Silver King restaurant.

The kids have learned to enjoy going, but the drive was tough when they were younger. In fact, last Sunday when Greg & Patti left we went with Mom, Dad and Seldon… comfort food to soothe my sorrow. Earlier that day, we were sitting on the porch before taking Savanna back to Caton’s Island for the week, and I told her, “After we drop you off, we’re going to Black’s Harbor for fish ‘n’ chips.” Her response: “You suck!” Love you too sweatheart! I guess I can’t blame her, it wasn’t very nice for me to tell her.

Recently, there have been a couple of problems though. First, the service has declined drastically. Not last Sunday, but the time before, the waitress actually sighed at us when we asked for something. On Sunday, we watched a group of eight people come in and ask for a table. She huffed and puffed and sighed at them too. She could have easily put two tables together, but she insisted that they crowd around a table for six. Two of the eight left. She must be a family member of the

Silver King - July 2006

owner because she’s just bad for business. Plus, the dirty washrooms are in the basement at the bottom of a filthy narrow spiral staircase. Seldon went down to the washroom and came up saying, “It’s just too dirty, I couldn’t use it.”

Even though they serve the best fish ‘n’ chips I think I’ve ever eaten, it is unlikely that we’ll go back. So, now to find another place. Suggestions?

2 Responses to “Day 19 – Fish ‘n’ Chips”

  1. Lori July 18, 2011 at 8:48 AM #

    Ozzy’s…it is close to St. Steven. Best fish & chips I have ever had (their seafood platters are also good). We’ve also been told that Komo’s (sp?) is better and cheaper, but haven’t tried it yet. 🙂

  2. Leanne August 20, 2011 at 10:21 PM #

    I was going to recommend Ossie’s and Comeau’s too! I’ve never had better fish and chips than Ossie’s, and my mom and dad love Comeau’s. Gotta try both of them! They are both on the road between Saint John and St. Stephen.

Leave a Reply

