Day 28 – The Perfect Summer Read

25 Jul

At this rate I’ll never get through my stack of books. On my trip to New Jersey I finished reading The Book of Negroes by Lawrence Hill. It definitely ranks up there with the five best books I’ve read in the last ten years. If you like historical fiction, or are interested in the civil rights movement, or even just love to lose yourself in a fantastic story, this book is for you.

Even when I love a book, I’m not always happy with the way it ends. But, this one had the perfect ending and although there is not big twist and it could arguably be predictable, it is satisfying. I avoided finishing the book because I didn’t want it to end, but I must say the ending was… perfect.

Yesterday I started reading Sister Wife by Shelley Hrdlitschka. I loved The Book of Negroes, but it was one of those epic reads. Sister Wife is the perfect summer read. I was hooked after chapter one and I’ve been reading quickly. I’ll finish it in a day or two. Savanna read it last semester and I can’t wait for her to come home from Caton’s so we can talk about it. It’s so much fun to be reading the same books as my daughter.

Last summer I read The Lonely Polygamist by Brady Udall, both books deal with plural marriage but couldn’t be more different from each other. Udall’s book is laugh out loud funny. There is something so intriguing about reading about worlds so very different from my own.

Happy reading friends!

Leave a Reply

