Day 30 – #38 Rekindle an Old Friendship

27 Jul

Do you remember how easy it was to make friends when you were a kid? Sometime between childhood and adulthood we learn to be embarrassed, and it keeps us from acting on impulses. This can be a very good thing; however, it can keep us from taking chances we ought to take. I remember the summer I was 12 years old. I remember knocking on the door of the new neighbours. “Do you have any kids?” I asked the man that answered the door. That was the beginning of a beautiful friendship.

For a while, during Junior High School, Maureen and I were inseparable. I remember hanging out in her room reading, chatting, giggling like 12 year-old girls will do. I remember singing in her basement. She was good; I wasn’t. She still sings well. I’m worse than ever, but at least I’m aware of it now. I brought her to church and youth group with me. She was shy; me, not so much. She’s still pretty reserved; me, not so much.

Although we are very different in many ways, Maureen and I built a friendship based on common interests. Before graduation, Maureen moved away and we lost touch. But, to be honest, we had let our friendship drift apart before that. According to my husband I use the pronoun ‘we’ a bit too liberally. To be honest, I was most likely to blame for that. Being the more outgoing one, I had many friends and sometimes that’s not great for making and keeping close friendships.

In university, Maureen moved back to Fredericton to go to UNB and for the first semester we were in the same program and even had some of the same classes. We rekindled our friendship then and have mostly kept in touch since then. After our second year, I got married and Maureen got a job and stopped going to school and we didn’t see each other as often. From 1992-1999 we got together a few times a year. Maureen moved away in 1999 and moved back to Fredericton four years later. Since then we’ve been doing our once or twice a year dinners out.

Last summer we met for dinner at Montana’s and had a great chat. We agreed that we needed to get together more often, and that we wouldn’t let it go so long before we got together again. Well, that didn’t work. We let it go again (there I go using that pronoun again). So, when we met for dinner at Isaac’s Way last month we decided the only way we were going to get together more often was if we planned our next get together before we parted. So, tonight she came here for supper. In a few weeks, we’re going to the movies together.

We were talking about the nature of friendships tonight, and how we are grateful that we kept in contact through all those years. Even though we only got together once or twice a year, we could always pick up from where we left off without a hitch. Neither of us pressured the other over how much time had passed since we last met, and we were always happy to make plans with each other. Now that we are adults, we are finding even more that we have in common. We both love to read, have a passion for travel, care about our families and like to hear about each other’s. I’m so grateful to be able to rekindle friendships, especially this one.

One Response to “Day 30 – #38 Rekindle an Old Friendship”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 40 Before 40 « wildmudturtle writes - August 5, 2011

    […] Rekindle and old friendship. […]

Leave a Reply

