Day 31 – July & August

28 Jul

Initially, I had misgivings about counting down the days of summer vacation. I thought it would bring up this feeling of dread as the days left became fewer than the days already past. Today I realized that we are halfway through summer vacation and I’ve got just as many days left as I’ve just had. I was away for 16 of the past 31 days, and I’ll be home for most of the next 31. Plus, at this time last year, and the year before, I was just finishing up school in Halifax and my summer was just beginning.

I’m reading, writing, going to the gym, travelling, spending time with friends and family, shopping, and relaxing. I’m having a fantastic summer and I’m equally as excited for the second half as I was the first half. Not at all like my workout this morning. When it was half over I thought, only half left to go–I can do this. When it comes to the summer, I think, it’s only half over, no need to lament yet!

I’m looking forward to getting back to school this year. No, really, I am. I decided a few years ago that September comes around, right on time, every year. I have two choices. I can like it or not. Not liking in makes me miserable and cranky; liking it gives me something to look forward to at the end of vacation. Plus, there’s something exciting about the start of a new school year. There is the smell of new school supplies, and opening new markers that no one else has ever used. There’s meeting all the new people in your classes and the new year’s resolutions that haven’t been broken yet; this goes for both teachers and students.

With the leaves changing colour and apple picking opportunities, September was already a great month. If I had to rank the months according to how much I liked them, September would be third. September brings the start of school. The teacher in me likes that school is starting, but the parent in me likes it even more. As much as I cannot wait to be free of the routines at the end of June, I’m SO ready for the routines to begin again in September. Like most, I need routine in my life. September also brings the Harvest. Oh, I like fresh vegetables that we find at the market in September, but that’s not the Harvest I meant. Every September my husband and I go to the Harvest Jazz & Blues Festival in Fredericton. It’s the week every year that our city comes alive!

Fall has typically been my favourtie season. Even as a kid I was always more excited for school to start in September than I ever was for it to end in June. Somewhere along the journey those two have traded places in my mind, but they both are exciting times of change. So, I’ve decided that September is the third best month of the year, right after July and August.

One Response to “Day 31 – July & August”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 58 – My summer has been GREAT! « wildmudturtle writes - August 24, 2011

    […] becomes unbearable. But, I can live with that, because then it’s the hope of another beautiful summer like this one that keeps me sane. Plus, it doesn’t hurt that I really love what I […]

Leave a Reply

