Day 40 – #17 Lose 20lbs and Keep it Off

6 Aug

I hate to write about this one, because I’ve lost the same twenty pounds three or four times already. The problem was keeping it off. I chose twenty as a number because when I put my list out I had already lost close to twenty pounds, so if I lost another twenty I’d be down almost forty pounds. I wrote my list in November, but I had 15 months to do it. No hurry, right? In fact, I didn’t start until the end of January.

I went to Weight Watchers because they changed the program. Often you’ll hear that you ought to wait until you’re ready mentally to commit to losing the weight, but I wasn’t in that spot mentally. In fact, Glenn encouraged me to go. “Just to get the new program,” he said. “Then you can quit if you want to.” So, I agreed. But, I lost 8.8lbs in the first two weeks. I couldn’t quit. The weight loss slowed down, as it always does, but having success kept me motivated.

Between the end of January and the end of June I lost 27lbs. From my heaviest, I’ve lost well over 4olbs, but since school ended I haven’t lost a thing. But, I have not gained it back either. I haven’t stopped trying to lose weight, but I have started to exercise frequently and intensively. I’m doing what Weight Watchers tells me to do, but I keep yo-yoing the same 2lbs.

At this point, I think the key for me is not to quit. It would be so easy to throw my hands up in the air at this point and say, “this isn’t worth it.” But, I don’t feel that way. This time is different (famous last words, huh?). I’m at a twenty year low on the scale and I’m in size 12 jeans for the first time since grade ten. Not just one lucky pair of size 12 jeans, but every new pair of jeans, dress pants and shorts. It feels good. I do realize that today’s size 12 was probably a 14 or maybe even a 16 twenty years ago, but I’m okay with that because I’m not done. I’ve got forty more pounds to lose and I’m not about to quit while I’m winning!

One Response to “Day 40 – #17 Lose 20lbs and Keep it Off”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 40 Before 40 « wildmudturtle writes - August 6, 2011

    […] Day 40 – #17 Lose 20lbs and Keep it Off « wildmudturtle writes – August 6, 2011 […] four times already. The problem was keeping it off. I chose twenty as a number because when I put my list out I had already lost close to twenty pounds, so if I lost another twenty I’d be down almost […] […]

Leave a Reply

