Day 56 – My summer reading list

22 Aug

Fifty-six days ago I began blogging with the intent of writing every day. I’ve missed two (more on that later). My first blog was my summer reading list. Here it is again:

  1. Have a Little Faith by Mitch Albom
  2. The Book of Negroes by Lawrence Hill
  3. Sister Wife by Shelley Hrdlitschka
  4. Ophelia by Lisa Klein
  5. When You Are Engulfed in Flames by David Sedaris
  6. Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr
  7. The Heretic’s Daughter by Kathleen Kent
  8. The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith
  9. Freedom by Jonathan Franzen

I’ve read four of these, numbers 1, 2, 3 and 7, and I am almost finished another that wasn’t on the list. I’m three quarters of the way through Still Alice by Lisa Genova. It wasn’t on the original list because it’s for book club and we didn’t choose it until the end of July. I’m absolutely loving Still Alice and recommend it to any of my female friends 30 years-old or older. Or, if you have a loved one with Alzheimer’s, you need to read this book.

Pleasure reading usually slows down for me throughout the school year. I’m hoping that I can change that this year, or at least read more than the two novels I read last school year. I’m going to ask my students to keep their own reading lists and I’m going to keep one of my own. Many of my students will put me to shame with the sheer number of books they read. But, if I’m going to ask them to challenge what they think is possible, I need to do the same. So, I’m going to add to my list. Here is the updated version:

  1. Have a Little Faith by Mitch Albom
  2. The Book of Negroes by Lawrence Hill
  3. Sister Wife by Shelley Hrdlitschka
  4. Ophelia by Lisa Klein
  5. When You Are Engulfed in Flames by David Sedaris
  6. Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr
  7. The Heretic’s Daughter by Kathleen Kent
  8. The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith
  9. Freedom by Jonathan Franzen
  10. Still Alice by Lisa Genova
  11. Little Bee by Chris Cleave
  12. Case Histories by Kate Atkinson
  13. Sold by Patricia McCormick
  14. If I Stay by Gayle Forman
  15. Anglea’s Ashes by Frank McCourt
  16. Life of Pi by Yann Martel
  17. My next book club selection 😉

There is too much to read, and too little time. I’ll have to obtain copies of the rest of the books on my list and take a new photo. There’s something satisfying about a photo of a stack of books I intend to read. I wonder how I’ll do that when some of them exist on my kindle. Maybe I’ll borrow from the library long enough to snap a pic. Maybe I’ll even get my students to photograph their stack of ‘to read next’ books. Do you think that would go over well? Sometimes my idea of fun doesn’t resonate with teenagers.

One Response to “Day 56 – My summer reading list”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 58 – My summer has been GREAT! « wildmudturtle writes - August 24, 2011

    […] was lucky enough to go to the best workshop I’ve attended in my whole career. And, I’ve read some great books. I’ve spent quality time with friends and family, and blogged all along the way. With my […]

Leave a Reply

