Divergent

30 Jun

Today I finished reading Divergent by Veronica Roth. This is the first YA book I’ve read since reading The Hunger Games over March Break. I liked The Hunger Games, but I LOVED Divergent! Tris, the protagonist, is easy to relate to. I like how the author lets you into her mind without giving away everything she’s thinking.

When I went to see if I could find I photo of the cover, I discovered that the book is being made into a movie due to hit theatres in 2015. That’s exciting, but entirely too long a wait. I’m glad I’ve still got Insugent to read, and even though that wasn’t on my summer reading list, I’ll probably read it next while I’m still excited about Divergent. Many of my adult friends read and enjoyed The Hunger Games, and if that was you, you MUST read Divergent. In its own way it is equally violent and it has that same element of ethical delimma. I kept finding myself thinking how I would react in similar situatios.

For me, this was one of those reads that I just couldn’t put down. I took it with me everywhere, and spent over an hour and a half in the tub with this book on Wednesday. If I didn’t already have book two, I’d be sad that it was over. Now, it’s onto Roth’s Insurgent.

Leave a Reply

