Day 7 – Threading, DSW, and Ikea

1 Jul

Happy Canada Day! If I could choose how to spend Canada Day, it would be celebrating on the beach, relaxing with a book and a few cold drinks. That wasn’t possible today, but I still had a terrific day. Glenn and I had the day to ourselves. I love days like these! We had to run a few errands this morning before we got to the fun stuff. I had some unwanted hair removed by threading for the first time ever. At first it felt like she was slicing my skin with a dull razor blade, but after the skin seemed to go numb, it wasn’t so bad. Also, she kept offering to thread other areas and it felt more like a criticism of my level hariness than a sales pitch. I had to reassure her that I like my eyebrows just the way they are. My skin felt sunburned afterward, but it’s fine now and I’m happy with the results. I’ll probably submit to the torture again.wpid-2014-07-01-21.45.26.jpg.jpeg

Do you love shoes? Shoe shopping? Me too! If you love shoes like I do, and you’ve never been to DSW, you’re missing out. I went looking for another pair sandals like the ones I wear almost constantly in the summer. My feet have needs! I didn’t find what I was looking for, but I did find a pair of black patent FltFlops. So basically, I picked the ugliest pair of comfy looking sandals I could find and tried them on. Theywpid-2014-07-01-21.44.50.jpg.jpeg looked mediocre on the rack, but I loved them on. They look more dressy than most of my summer shoes and they feel like walking on a cloud. However, they did come with a warning. this is the first time I’ve bought shoes that had to have a warning. Hopefully, I still think they’re wonderful after wearing them for a while.

The bulk of our day was spent at Ikea. You don’t really go to Ikea to pick up a few things. It’s more of an event than a shopping trip. However, this trip was more of a scouting trip. We bought a few small things, a few things for my classroom to help with organization and a lighting feature. But mostly, we took photos of things we need that we’ll get on our next trip when we have more room in our vehicle. We need a piece of furniture for our basement bathroom, a new office chair and some inventive storage/shelving in our daughter’s room. I think we found everything we wanted. I love Ikea for the first few hours, but our five hour trip was at least a half hour too long. We were in the marketplace and were busy looking at something and our cart went missing. Who does that? If I ended up with someone else’s cart, I’d at least try to take it back to where I thought I took it. Figuring someone had grabbed the wrong cart, we searched for it to no avail. So it took us at least an extra half hour to backtrack and pick up the things that we had already put in our cart. It was worth it, but if you had asked me at the time I might not have said that.

We don’t have any plans for tomorrow, and I kinda like it that way.

Leave a Reply

