Day 10 – 4th of July Road Trip!

4 Jul

Summer is meant for road trips! Today we’re going to see good friends that I haven’t seen in almost a year. While yesterday I was happy to watch the storm, today I’m hoping it stops raining so we can enjoy a BBQ, a bonfire and some genuine backyard celebrations. It’s looking good because Glenn just interrupted me and said, “Look!” while pointing at the sky clearing up ahead. Fortunately, we’re driving west and leaving hurricane Arthur behind us.wpid-20140704_140546.jpg

Do you want to know what I love the most about road trips? Don’t answer that because it doesn’t matter. I’m going to tell you anyway. I love being a passenger, and generally that works out well for me. I love to relax, read, write, play games on my phone, snack, and nap. Sounds like the perfect day to me! But the thing I love the most about road trips is being trapped in the car together. Honestly! It’s during really long road trips when we have our best conversations, you know the big ones. We talk about our future, what we want out of the next 5-15 years, we talk about our finances, we talk about our kids and our hopes for them, we talk about life. Being in the car for hours and hours lets us have time to talk about the things we put off talking about in our day-to-day life. It’s not that we don’t want to have these conversations about life; it’s that we always seem so preoccupied with living our life.

Today, I’m doing one of the things I love to do best. I’m spending the day with my love, driving to see our friends, listening to the music, writing my blog and he doesn’t know it yet, but we’re about to begin our dialogue! Happy 4th of July to my American friends and family.

Leave a Reply

