Day 17 – Summer reading list update

11 Jul

In the last 17 days I’ve read two books. Yesterday I finished reading Meg Wolitzer’s The Interestings and today I finished Graeme Simsion’s The Rosie Project. At this rate, I won’t finish my entire list, but that’s okay.

the interestingsAlthough The Interestings was good, it’s not a book I’d recommend to everyone. It was an epic read following a group of young people from the beginning of their friendship well into their adult life. They meet at a summer camp for artistic adolescents and the reader gets to follow them and find out who realizes their dreams and which characters have to set more realistic expectations for themselves. I remember both going to and working at a summer camp during my own teen years. I remember making friends there that I thought I’d be close with forever. When you’re in a situation where you’re away from home for the first time and with a group of people who are your age and have similar interests, you tend to build strong bonds quickly. Even though many of the situations seemed so ordinary and it was the ordinary scenes that made this a slow read for me, the idea that the group of characters that remain close friends do so for 30 years after the camp is over is not quite believable. Even though it really hasn’t been my experience, I could see keeping one or maybe two close friends, but no more. The reason I stuck it out is because of the depth of characters, moral dilemmas explored and to satisfy my curiosity as to how the conflicts would be resolved. I was not disappointed.

therosieprojectThe Rosie Project is a book for everyone. If you have, or know anyone who has, Asperger’s you might enjoy it even more. It is outright funny and I laughed aloud. I read it in a day and a half which is highly unusual for me. We’re talking about it at book club tomorrow, so I had some added motivation, but I would have finished it quickly otherwise. If you choose to read it, you’ll end up loving the protagonist and be pleasantly surprised at some of the unexpected twists. I can’t wait to discuss it at book club tomorrow!

I’m so grateful that I have 44 more days of summer reading left!

Leave a Reply

