Day 21 – Attitude of Gratitude

15 Jul

For many reasons, yesterday was a tough day for me. It was the beginning of a stretch of a few weeks with nothing big planned and I think I was mostly restless and a bit grumpy. I long for this time of waking naturally, sitting around with coffee, doing yoga in the morning, not eating breakfast until 10:30, basically doing what I want, when I want. Yesterday, there were a few obstacles in the way of that. I think that is probably what caused me to have a tough day. Looking back, there were several reasons to assess yesterday as a fantastic day. I did yoga early, which is what I prefer, and my massage therapist called me to say she had an opening. I had a wonderful massage, which I missed last week during the power outage. Also, I was really happy with my writing/blogging yesterday. So today, I’m choosing gratitude by changing my attitude. I know, it rhymes… so original.

Five things that I’m grateful for today:

  1. I got my yoga, and first cup of coffee in before 9:00AM. I’ve been doing yoga with online videos at www.doyogawithme.com I like it because I can choose the level, type of yoga, length of class, even instructor. I’m doing beginner classes, but I’m excited to know that there’s lots of room to progress. I’m a summer time exerciser. I’ll exercise amost every day all summer and then quit cold when work begins again in September. If anyone has advice for me on how to maintain a sensible exercise routine, one that I want to do while working full time, I’d be glad to hear your advice.
  2. I went to a new chiropractor and was thrilled to have a fantastic adjustment as it was my first appointment in three years. I saw Jennie Hersey, at Fredericton Family Chiropractic. I used to babysit Jennie, but shhh, don’t tell her I told you. She was sweet and professional. Because she is so tiny, I was worried that she would have a difficult time with the strength needed for my adjustment, but I had nothing to worry about. She is small AND mighty.
  3. I came home to a big hug from my son. This is not rare, but as he gets older I appreciate that it still happens on a regular basis.
  4. I have been sitting outside on my covered front porch, listening to the rain and writing for hours. I’m completing a virtual summer writing camp for teachers. I’ve started this camp in previous years, but this is the first time I’ve really followed through with it and I’m so glad that I am. Maybe later I’ll share some of that with you, maybe. I’m posting everything for that to a different blog… you could probably find it if you really wanted to.
  5. wpid-20140715_140115.jpgMy 86 year-old mother in law is here; she’s vibrant, healthy and great company. Sometimes we’ll cook together. Often, she will putter around the house doing little things that I’d never do. For instance, today she took one of those little fabric shavers to the couch in our family room. At other times, we sit in companionable silence while we both read or she does her sudoku puzzles and I write. I’m glad she can be here with us this summer as she is mourning the death of her best friend just a few weeks ago.

With so much for which to be grateful, I have little reason to be grumpy. However, I’m learning to allow myself to feel a range of emotions without dwelling on the negative for too long. Sharing my gratitude is one way to keep me mindful of all the blessings in my life.

Leave a Reply

