Day 26 – Down by the water

20 Jul

wpid-debbies-toes.jpg.jpeg

Down by the water
my soul feels closer to heaven.
There is no tension or strain.
I have a house in the highlands;
I have a place I call home,
but nothing give me that feeling,
that feeling that I belong.

When the winter wears on,
when feeling life’s pain,
I take myself down by the water
and let it sooth my soul.

Down by the water
my mind is happy and free.
There is no worry or fear.
I have a house in the highlands;
I have a place I call home,
but nothing gives me that feeling,
that feeling that I belong.

When the heat beats down,
when the road seems long,
I take myself down by the water
and ease my troubles away.

Down by the water
my heart is light and open.
There is no stress or hate.
I have a house in the highlands;
I have a place I call home,
but nothing gives me that feeling,
that feeling that I belong,
except being down by the water,
by the water where I belong.

When life get hard
and grief takes over,
I take myself down by the water
and return to where I belong.

One Response to “Day 26 – Down by the water”

  1. Gloria Dines Boyce July 20, 2014 at 9:46 PM #

    lovely poem

Leave a Reply

