Day 50 – Where to next year?

13 Aug

“It’s been my experience that you can nearly always enjoy things if you make up your mind firmly that you will.”
― L.M. Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables

wpid-momnme.jpgI didn’t have to make up my mind to enjoy our trip to the PEI, it was a given. Three days with my mom, time to walk and talk, exploring the Green Gables property and the Anne of Green Gables Musical was a recipe for a successful trip. We enjoyed our time, right down to the drive home. During which, I changed both of our facebook profile photos. My aunt commented on mom’s, “Nice photo, lol.” Mom says she thinks ‘lol’ means lots of love. This led to me reading ‘when parents text’ aloud. We had a good laugh.

“Life is worth living as long as there’s a laugh in it.”
― L.M. Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables

I have to admit that my mom really surprised me. Most of you know that the last few years have been a bit difficult for her health wise and that she was diagnosed with fibromyalgia. When she picked me up to go, I asked her if she wanted me to drive. She didn’t, not right away anyhow. She ended up driving everywhere. Not only that, but over the course of a day and a half we walked at least 5 kilometers of trails. I was worried about her at first, but she enjoyed it just as much as I did. I hope that I have her energy and zest for life when I’m her age.

“She makes me love her and I like people who make me love them. It saves me so much trouble making myself love them.”
― L.M. Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables

On our walk yesterday, mom turned to me and asked, “So where are we going to go next year?” We haven’t decided yet, but we know it won’t be a shopping trip. The only way it could come close to an equal experience as seeing our beloved Anne would be going to Stratford-Upon-Avon or to Amsterdam to see the Anne Frank house or something. If anyone has a good idea, we’d love to hear it.

“I’ve had a splendid time,” she concluded happily, “and I feel that it marks an epoch in my life. But the best of it all was the coming home.”  ― L.M. Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables

Leave a Reply

