Summer 2015

13 Jun

My summer vacation time doesn’t start for another ten days, but I’m SO ready for it now. Every summer I get a big stack of books ready so there won’t be a lack of choices. Today I just finished reading Revival by Stephen King. I’m not a big King fan, but I loved this one. So now, I want something a little less intense and I’m looking to my stack to make my next choice.

image

Besides the stack of 17 books you see here, I have the following eReads waiting for me
Things I Know by Heart by Jessi Kirby
In the Unlikely Event by Judy Blume
Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng
Where They Found Her by Kimberly McCreight
Every Fifteen Minutes by Lisa Scottoline
MWF Seeking BFF by Rachel Bertsche
What Alice Forgot by Liane Moriarty
Longbourne by Jo Baker

Honestly, if I read 8-10 of the 25 before school starts again in the fall, I’ll be happy. So, which one should I start with?

One Response to “Summer 2015”

  1. queenofdoover June 14, 2015 at 7:19 AM #

    I think you should start with The First Phone Calls From Heaven by Mitch Albom for two reasons. First, it’s the only one on your list I’ve read and I liked it. I liked it because it’s an easy, leisurely, ‘feel good’ read. In my opinion any book lovin’ high school English teacher should ease into summer reading with an ‘easy’ enjoyable read because your brain is likely almost mush after a year of teaching and marking final exams and essays. I would prescribe this as a ‘theraputic read’, much needed therapy for the mind and soul. Secondly, it’s the first book on your tower. ‘Ya gotta’ start somewhere on that long list and tall tower so, you might as well grab the first one on top and dive in.

Leave a Reply

